logo.png banner.png
banner01
banner02
banner03
Home > Departments > English & Literature Department

English & Literature Department

Objectives

Our department’s strong belief in the statement, “…strong foundation and rich language for all” is translated into sound and engaging programmes that would develop our students into critical thinkers and confident learners. We aim to provide all students who pass through Dunearn’s gates a wide exposure to rich texts and strengthen their foundation in grammar and vocabulary. Lessons can be dynamic, with group activities, drama, songs and of course, ICT, infused in the pedagogy.


Staffing


Name

Designation

Email

Mr Tang Chee Onn

HOD English & Literature

tang_chee_onn@moe.edu.sg

Ms Aloor Rittu Pius

Teacher

aloor_rittu_pius@moe.edu.sg

Ms Goh K Thing

Teacher

goh_k_thing@moe.edu.sg

Ms Khoo Mei Imm Faith

Teacher

khoo_mei_imm_faith@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Lee Wen Ee Hazel

LH Citizenship and Character Education

hazel_hong_wen_ee@moe.edu.sg

Ms Melissa Lim

Teacher

lim_li_li_melissa@moe.edu.sg

Mr Muhammad Hazwan B Sapari

Teacher

muhammad_hazwan_b_sapari@moe.edu.sg

Ms Naznin Rehana Begum

Teacher

naznin_rehana_begum@moe.edu.sg

Mr Saravanan Govindan

Teacher

saravanan_govindan@moe.edu.sg

Ms Tan Pui Leng Beatrice Teacher beatrice_tan_pui_leng@moe.edu.sg

Ms Wong Lee Min

Teacher

wong_lee_min@moe.edu.sg

Mr Yew Yishen

Teacher

yew_yishen@moe.edu.sg

Ms Angela Ng Shi Qi Teacher (PT) angela_ng_shi_qi@moe.edu.sg
Ms Au Yee Jong Teacher (Adj) au_yee_jong@moe.edu.sg


Reading Programme

One period is allocated in the EL curriculum time per week for reading alone. Here, students are exposed to a plethora of non-fiction texts via thoughtfully selected magazines. As media literacy is a vital skill in a fast-evolving world, photos and advertisements quickly lend themselves to robust discussions in the classroom.


Enrichment Programme

We believe that drama is an important element in language teaching and can be an effective tool in imparting a passion for the language. Through a series of specially selected programmes, students will be exposed to elements of drama which can build their creativity and expression. These imparted life skills will in turn boost their confidence for the spoken language, build their creative skills for writing and contribute to positive character building.

Therefore, our Secondary One students will be required to attend poetry theatre workshops which will introduce creative ways to dramatise and present poetry texts. Our Secondary Two students are encouraged to attend external musicals or drama productions organised by the department to expose and deepen their understanding of the performing arts and culture in Singapore.


Assessment

We also embrace the notion of holistic assessment. Hence, we carefully design a suit of bit-size, “alternative” assessments that are not the usual pen-and-paper exam-oriented types. We incorporate tasks such as Show-and-Tell, News Podcast, film reviews and even poetry in our assessment to nurture a love for the language in our students.


Literature Programme

We are especially proud of our Literature Programme, that offers “Full” Literature at ‘O’ and ‘NA’ levels. Recognising that a fulfilling Literature experience should not be limited to the texts, our passionate teachers have been bringing our Literature students out regularly to watch plays and take part in competitions such as the National Literature Festival, where we are regular award winners!


Key Programmes

  • English Language and Literature Week
  • Poetry Theatre Workshop
  • Drama Enrichment
  • Strategic Oral Communication Skills Workshop
  • National Literature Festival – Book Trailer and Set Text Debate
  • Literature Enrichment Workshop